Wednesday , October 20 2021
Breaking News
Home / Political parties / Asawase remains as NDC clears four other constituencies for primaries

Asawase remains as NDC clears four other constituencies for primaries

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) will hold Parliamentary primaries for four other constituencies on Saturday, August 31, 2019.

The party held primaries in 157 constituencies across the country last weekend.

But primaries were postponed in five constituencies for various reasons.

In a statement, the Functional Executive Committee of the NDC has cleared the Assin Central Constituency, Mfantsiman Constituency, Fanteakwa North Constituency and the Elembelle Constituency to go ahead with their primaries.

This leaves the Asawase constituency where some NDC members have filed a petition to the National Executive Council of the party following their inability to file the nomination form of Masawudu Mubarick, the aspirant who is challenging the incumbent MP, Muntaka Mubarak.

The NDC has put in place a conflict resolution committee to resolve the impasse in the constituency.

Masawudu Mubarick has expressed concern that the posturing of some party executives indicates that they do not want him to contest, Muntaka Mubarak, who is the Minority Chief Whip in Parliament.

He found the regional office of the party under lock and key when he arrived at the premises on to file his nomination form back in July.

Mr. Masawudu’s nomination forms were said to have been rejected at the constituency and regional level because of pending disciplinary action against him.

About ghanapolitics

Check Also

Vetting: NPP Eastern fails 15 parliamentary aspirants

The governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Eastern Region has failed 15 parliamentary aspirants …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email